Orbis, Liturgical Press, Paulist Press Win Numerous ACP and CMA Awards

Posted By: Therese Brown ACP Member News, Awards,

For more detailed information on each publishers' awards:

Orbis Books Honored with 16 Catholic Media Association 2021 Book Awards

Awardees include authors Massimo Faggioli, Maria Cimperman, Leo Lefebure, Joe Hoover, SJ, and collections of writings by Pope Francis and speeches and sermons of Jesse L. Jackson, Sr. 

Maryknoll, New York – Orbis Books, the publishing arm of the Maryknoll Fathers and Brothers, which just celebrated its 50th anniversary, was honored with 16 Book Awards from the Catholic Media Association during their convention on June 10, 2021. Among the six first-place winners was Pope Francis, for his commentary on The Gospel of Matthew, and theologian Massimo Faggioli for the best book on Pope Francis himself, The Liminal Papacy of Pope Francis. Other first place winners included Jim Forest, Writing Straight with Crooked Lines (best memoir), Maria Cimperman’s Religious Life for Our World, Leo Lefebure’s Transforming Interreligious Relations, and Joe Hoover, SJ, O Death, Where Is Thy Sting? (Grief/Bereavement). Keeping Hope Alive: the Sermons and Speeches of Reverend Jesse L. Jackson, Sr, edited by Grace Ji-Sun Kim, won Second Place in the Faithful Citizen/Religious Freedom category.

Orbis publisher Robert Ellsberg observes: “These prize-winning books are a good reflection of the Orbis program itself: concern for the global dimensions of Christian faith, promoting dialogue, and offering a message of hope.”

Liturgical Press Authors Earn Thirty-Five Book Awards

COLLEGEVILLE, MINNESOTA (June 2021)—Liturgical Press is honored to be the publisher of seven award-winning books chosen by the Association of Catholic Publishers (ACP) 2021 Excellence in Publishing Awards, as well as 24 books receiving 28 awards from the Catholic Media Association (CMA). Liturgical Press also received three additional awards in the catalog category from CMA making it a total of 38 awards from both organizations recognizing the best in Catholic publishing. We congratulate the dedicated and talented authors we have had the pleasure of working with during this challenging year. These winning titles are available directly from Liturgical Press at litpress.org.

For more details on specific award winners

Paulist Press Announces Award Winners

Paulist Press is proud to announce that the Catholic Media Association (CMA) and the Association of Catholic Publishers (ACP) have honored several Paulist Press books this year. Please join us as we celebrate these recent award winners.

  • Heartstorming--1st Place, Spirituality
  • And Yet It Moves--Faith and Science
  • Sixty Years of Moral Theology--Theology
  • An African Gospel--Children
  • Sister Thea Bowman--Youth and Young Adult
  • Dorothy Day, Thomas Merton and the Greatest Commandment--History
  • Thomas Beckett--Biography
  • Thomas Aquinas--Biography
  • Beholding Paradise--Coffee Table Book: Religious Art